Hine Language

Hine Language

Hine Language

Our Deaf Adoption Journey

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Say What?

November 16, 2010 , ,

“Why a deaf child?” That seems to be the question we’ve been asked the most so far. While it’s tempting to say that we’re just extra nice, the truth is that a deaf child is exactly what we want. It’s like a special order. I don’t know that I can quantify why exactly, but there is a certain culture within the deaf community that we find exciting. I have a lot to learn about it still, but I’m looking forward to it.

So far, Lauri is the only one that knows sign language, but I can type much faster than her. It’s only a matter of time before I catch up.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

I’m so excited for you all!! The deaf really are some very special people and I have a great love for those from Ethiopia. I have friends in Ethiopia who work with the deaf there. Their deaf school is named after my dad’s church in TN. Faith Baptist School for the Deaf. Such sweet people. What an exciting journey for your family!

Amy McCombie

Amy

November 18, 2010

