Hine Language

Hine Language

Hine Language

Our Deaf Adoption Journey

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

I’ve Never Even Met You

November 28, 2010

We’re really excited about our friends, the Whipples, possibly picking up their son before the holidays.

That kind of got me thinking that somewhere out there, our dude is probably going to be spending the holidays in an orphanage in Ethiopia.  I think of all the times we hear about fairness in this house.  “She got to ride in the front seat.”  “I didn’t get 3 pieces of candy.”  I’m probably the worst:  “I have to go to work.”  But this year we’ll be enjoying what will probably be a fantastic holiday season, and he’s going to be in his quiet little world across the planet.

The trick that I think we all use to keep from feeling horrible about that is to pretend that we don’t even know who he is yet.  The truth is that he’s a real person and a real part of our family.  We’re all starting to get a sense of that now.

I will make it up to him at some point. 🙂

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

